Leicester Tigers press release in full

Steve Borthwick has named the Leicester Tigers line-up to face Wasps at the Ricoh Arena in Round 19 of the 2019/20 Gallagher Premiership.

Ellis Genge will captain the club for the first time on Wednesday evening, in the loosehead prop’s 74th appearance for the club. He is joined by Jake Kerr and Nephi Leatigaga in the front row.

Cameron Henderson makes his first starting appearance at lock, after arriving at the club in the summer, and will partner Blake Enever in the second row.

In the back row, Ollie Chessum is named at blindside flanker, Thom Smith at openside and Jordan Coghlan at No8.

Smith is one of two vice-captains for the Round 19 fixture alongside scrum-half Ben White.

Zack Henry starts at fly-half in his fourth appearance for Tigers, partnering White as half-backs.

Guy Porter is included at centre alongside Dan Kelly – in his first start – with Harry Simmons and Harry Potter on the wings and George Worth at full-back.

Charlie Clare, Facundo Gigena and Joe Heyes are the front-row cover on the bench, with Harry Wells and Sam Lewis included as fellow forwards. Ben Youngs, Johnny McPhillips and Andrew Forsyth provide backline cover.

Speaking about the matchday squad named, Borthwick said: “With a short turnaround, we have made changes and provided opportunities for some players who did not feature against Sale.

“Ellis will captain the club for the first time and has been brilliant in the build-up this week, leading the group.

“This group of players have earned the privilege of representing the club on Wednesday and, with all Tigers teams, need to deliver a performance the club and our supporters are proud of.”

Looking ahead to the game against Wasps, Borthwick added: “They are a side that have shown good form since the season resumed and we are looking forward to the opportunity of coming up against them.

“We have made strong steps on this journey so far and need to continue progressing as a group, every game and every day at training.”

Leicester Tigers (v Wasps, away, Wednesday 5.30pm)

15 George Worth
14 Harry Potter
13 Dan Kelly
12 Guy Porter
11 Harry Simmons
10 Zack Henry
9 Ben White (vc)

1 Ellis Genge (c)
2 Jake Kerr
3 Nephi Leatigaga
4 Cameron Henderson
5 Blake Enever
6 Ollie Chessum
7 Thom Smith (vc)
8 Jordan Coghlan


16 Charlie Clare
17 Facundo Gigena
18 Joe Heyes
19 Harry Wells
20 Sam Lewis
21 Ben Youngs
22 Johnny McPhillips
23 Andrew Forsyth

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *